Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Comprehensive Guide to Schedule, Phases, Constituencies, Candidates, and all you need to know about Bihar General Elections

Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Comprehensive Guide to Schedule, Phases, Constituencies, Candidates, and all you need to know about Bihar General Elections

Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Update: In the 2014 elections, BJP secured victory in 7 out of 14 seats. Demonstrating growth, they enhanced their performance in 2019, securing a total of 9 seats, marking their highest count to date.

Bihar holds a prominent position in Indian politics, boasting a legacy of producing seasoned politicians. With its 40 Lok Sabha seats, the state ranks fourth nationwide, making it a crucial player in shaping the outcomes of General Elections. The extensive number of seats in Bihar often leads to a prolonged election process.

As for the upcoming Bihar Lok Sabha Elections in 2024, preliminary indications suggest that they might be scheduled for April and May, spanning multiple phases. Given the historical trend, General Elections in Bihar are usually conducted in several phases, determined by the Election Commission of India (ECI). If this pattern continues, Bihar’s elections could be organized across 7 to 8 phases. However, the final details will only be confirmed after the official announcement by the ECI, anticipated in late February or early March.

How many Lok Sabha constituencies Bihar has?

Bihar comprises a total of 40 constituencies, categorized into reserved and unreserved seats. In the 2019 elections, 34 seats were designated as unreserved, while six seats—Gopalganj, Hajipur, Samastipur, Sasaram, Gaya, and Jamui—were specifically reserved for SC (Scheduled Caste) candidates.

Complete list of candidates for the Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2024:

No Constituencies Candidates (I.N.D.I.A)
Candidates (NDA)
1 Valmiki Nagar
2 Paschim Champaran
3 Purvi Champaran
4 Sheohar
5 Sitamarhi
6 Madhubani
7 Jhanjharpur
8 Supaul
9 Araria
10 Kishanganj
11 Katihar
12 Purnia
13 Madhepura
14 Darbhanga
15 Muzaffarpur
16 Vaishali
17 Gopalganj
18 Siwan
19 Maharajganj
20 Saran
21 Hajipur
22 Ujiarpur
23 Samastipur
24 Begusarai
25 Khagaria
26 Bhagalpur
27 Banka
28 Munger
29 Nalanda
30 Patna Sahib
31 Pataliputra
32 Arrah
33 Buxar
34 Sasaram
35 Karakat
36 Jahanabad
37 Aurangabad
38 Gaya
39 Nawada
40 Jamui

Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2019- A Recap

During the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, NDA (BJP, JDU and LJP) registered a landslide victory in the elections, winning a total of 39 out of 40 seats, while the Mahagathbandhan (INC, RJD and RLSP) won only one seat, which went to INC’s candidate Md. Jawed from Kishanganj.

Complete list of elected candidates in Bihar Lok Sabha elections 2019:

No Constituencies Elected members Party
1 Valmiki Nagar Baidyanath Prasad Mahto JDU
2 Paschim Champaran Sanjay Jaiswal BJP
3 Purvi Champaran Radha Mohan Singh BJP
4 Sheohar Rama Devi BJP
5 Sitamarhi Sunil Kumar Pintu JDU
6 Madhubani Ashok Kumar Yadav BJP
7 Jhanjharpur Ramprit Mandal JDU
8 Supaul Dileshwar Kamait JDU
9 Araria Pradeep Kumar Singh BJP
10 Kishanganj Mohammad Jawed INC
11 Katihar Dulal Chandra Goswami JDU
12 Purnia Santosh Kumar JDU
13 Madhepura Dinesh Chandra Yadav JDU
14 Darbhanga Gopal Jee Thakur BJP
15 Muzaffarpur Ajay Nishad BJP
16 Vaishali Veena Devi LJP
17 Gopalganj Alok Kumar Suman JDU
18 Siwan Kavita Singh JDU
19 Maharajganj Janardan Singh Sigriwal BJP
20 Saran Rajiv Pratap Rudy BJP
21 Hajipur Pashupati Kumar Paras LJP
22 Ujiarpur Nityanand Rai BJP
23 Samastipur Ram Chandra Paswan LJP
24 Begusarai Giriraj Singh BJP
25 Khagaria Mehboob Ali Kaiser LJP
26 Bhagalpur Ajay Kumar Mandal JDU
27 Banka Giridhari Yadav JDU
28 Munger Lalan Singh JDU
29 Nalanda Kaushalendra Kumar JDU
30 Patna Sahib Ravi Shankar Prasad BJP
31 Pataliputra Ram Kripal Yadav BJP
32 Arrah R. K. Singh BJP
33 Buxar Ashwini Kumar Choubey BJP
34 Sasaram Chhedi Paswan BJP
35 Karakat Mahabali Singh JDU
36 Jahanabad Chandreshwar Prasad JDU
37 Aurangabad Sushil Kumar Singh BJP
38 Gaya Vijay Kumar Manjhi JDU
39 Nawada Chandan Singh LJP
40 Jamui Chirag Paswan LJP

List of candidates for 2024

In a significant turn of events, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s party, despite being a founding member of the I.N.D.I.A alliance, stirred controversy in the lead-up to the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections. The JDU (Janata Dal United) decided to sever ties with the newly formed alliance and rejoin the NDA (National Democratic Alliance), their former coalition partner in the preceding General Elections.

The political landscape for the upcoming mega elections will primarily feature two main fronts: the NDA, spearheaded by BJP and JDU, and the I.N.D.I.A alliance, led by RJD and INC. This strategic realignment sets the stage for a dynamic electoral contest.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *